Starts Here

Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Starts Here

·

2 min read

Hello,

this is my first blog. I am writing to document my journey as I become the engineer that I want to be. I dropped out of college, well my second college as I already got my degree in biology. I was doing a postbacc right after I graduated but I quickly realized that I can make a plan for myself better then what I was learning in school and I can do it for really cheap.

I am 23 and I currently know a bit of html and python. I have not made any projects or even explored outside of the terminal in python. The most code I've written is a for an assignment which was about 200 lines of code. I want to post the assignment here and what I turned into to look back on it, but I think thats illegal.

Currently I have a monthly subscription to Zero To Mastery, as of right now I really believe in the company and I think its pretty amazing. I learned python from school (well not really, I learned from youtube and just did the assignments) and i'm using ZTM to continue the front end developer path. I am going to continue to get better at python and make a project from it from youtube (thats just so I don't lose the skills that I have gained while I was in school). My main focus is ZTM however.

I will check back in after and week or whenever I feel it is necessary for an update. Listed below is all the things I know and want to know for python so lets see if I can cross some more of those items and get some type of tangible work in my portfolio.

  • Variables *
  • Conditions *
  • Chained Conditions *
  • Operators *
  • Control flow (if/else) *
  • Loops and Iterables *
  • Basic Data Structures *
    • Strings, list, tuples, dicts, sets
  • Functions *
  • Mutable and Immutable *
  • Common Methods
  • File IO

Intermediate:

  • Unit Testing *
  • Making Modules *
  • OOP (Object Oriented Programming) *
  • Basic Design Patterns
  • Inheritance (goes along with OOP) *
  • Polymorphism
  • Comprehension *
    • List, dicts
  • Environments
  • Data Structures
    • Ques, Hash maps, stacks, priority ques, Bio O notation
  • Advanced class behaviors
    • Dunder Methods
  • Lambda Function
    • maps
  • args & *kwargs
  • PIP
  • Async IO